My Grandma makes a mean potato salad.  It is her recipe we use as a go to one when we need a pot luck salad.  It is flavorful, easy and reminds me of how she says, Po-day-do.  Love that Quincy accent that reveals itself every now and then.

So, when I saw The Pioneer Woman’s Potato Salad recipe I was hesitant to let my true feelings express themselves.  They were dying to yell out, “I love you Grandma but this one sounds so yummy and interesting and I really really want to try it!”  So I took a deep breath and let them out, and then set to the task of making this potato salad for 17 people, which meant doubling it, which meant a lot of work, which meant with a mild cold all this cooking knocked me on my butt!  But it was worth it.  Cause, dang this was good!

Using a food mill isn’t easy, but it does produce some great results.  The potoatoes were fluffy and soft and the flavors mixed with them just exploded.  I loved the addition of eggs, I love me some hardboiled eggs.  I didn’t use pickles.  1. I don’t like sweet pickles.  2. I forgot to buy dill ones and with my Brother in Japan we didn’t have any in the house.  I could see pickles adding a lot.  Truth be told, this potato salad was packed with flavor as it was!  Lastly, I am with her on the dilemma of the skins- I wanted to fry them in a pan and eat them right up, it felt like a shame to waste them.  But I was tired, not hungry, and didn’t want to cook one more thing when all was said and done.

It was hard to double this recipe and not run out of bowl space.  I can’t remember if I resorted to mixing with my hands, I think I stuck with my spooon and got the job done- but I’m not confident that the mustards, mayos and eggs got everywhere they needed to go.  It was a lot of potatoes!  But it was a good thing I made that much, people were going back for 2nds and 3rds. Seriously, it is that good.

You know what the worst part of this recipe was?  Looking at the amount of mayo that is about to get mixed in.  That scared me.  But I did it.  And thank god I did, potatoes need dressings to be their tastiest selves.  Trust me.

Okay, now that I’m sitting here day dreaming about July 4th weekend again, read on for the recipe and then help me decide what to make for my last 2 July recipes!

Pioneer Woman’s (PDubs) Perfect Potato Salad

5 pounds russet potatoes (about 8 medium russets)
1 1/2 cups real mayonnaise (NOT Miracle Whip)
4 tablespoons prepared mustard (regular, Dijon, or a mixture of both) I used a mixture, YUM I love me some yellow mustard!
5 green onions, sliced up to the darkest green part
8 small sweet pickles (may use dill if that’s more up your alley) Again, didn’t use ’em- would next time.
1 teaspoon kosher salt (more to taste)
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
4 hard boiled eggs, coarsely chopped

Cut potatoes in halves or thirds, then boil until fork tender. Drain.
Mash potatoes or run them through a ricer or food mill to make them extra fluffy.
Fold potatoes together with mayonnaise, mustard, green onions, salt, pepper, and other seasonings you like. Fold in pickles and eggs, then taste for seasonings, adding more salt, mustard, or mayo as needed. You may also splash in juice from the pickle jar if salad needs a little moisture.

