After my success with roasted red peppers earlier in the week, I was excited to have them again.  My Mom mentioned having made this recipe over the weekend and how delicious it was, so she sent it over.

YUM.  It is a lovely, easy, great tasting meal that is healthy too!  Basically, Peppers, Onions, Chicken and Tomatoes.  Can’t go wrong, right?

Matt roasted the red peppers and did a great job.

The real secret is letting this sit and stew for a while so the vegetables get nice and stewed and the chicken stays moist while soaking up all the flavors.

Here’s the recipe:

Delizie di Pollo con Peporoni (Chicken Morsels with Peppers)

Serves 4

4 large yellow bell peppers

1 1/2 pounds chicken breasts cut in to bite-sized pieces

salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

1/3 cup olive oil

1 onion chopped (optional)

2 tablespoons finely minced garlic

2 large tomatoes, peeled, seeded, and cut into strips, juices reserved.

Roast the peppers- there are a lot of ways to do this.  So far I’ve just been putting them on a pan in the oven for 20-30 minutes cut up.  I want to try whole next.

Sprinkle the chicken with salt and pepper.  Warm the olive oil in a large saute pan over high heat.  Add the chicken pieces and brown on all sides.  Reduce the heat to medium-low and add the onion, if using (I used it it really helps make the dish I think), the garlic, the bell peppers and the tomato strips and their juices.  Simmer until the chicken in tender, 20-25 minutes.

The tomatoes I had weren’t great, so I can’t wait to try this again with really ripe and fresh tomatoes.

Kate brought some Trader Joe’s polenta to go with it, we sliced it and threw it in the oven for a few minutes- it was perfect!

This will definitely be a recipe I’ll make again.

Morsels

